Top:  Anna Bayuk, Kam Y. Cheung, Katherine E. Hebert, Maxwell H. Kilman, Amanda A. Manausa
Bottom: Isaac Resnikoff, Talia Rumsky, Andromeda A. Smith, Karen S. Villancio-Wolter

By: Sharon Aron Baron

Out of the 36 Broward County Public School students who were named semifinalists in the prestigious 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program, nine were from Marjory Stoneman Douglas.

These academically talented high school seniors are among the approximately 16,000 who have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. As juniors, students took the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

Marjory Stoneman Douglas students named 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists

Anna Bayuk
Kam Y. Cheung
Katherine E. Hebert
Maxwell H. Kilman
Amanda A. Manausa
Isaac Resnikoff
Talia Rumsky
Andromeda A. Smith
Karen S. Villancio-Wolter

All other BCPS students named as 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists

College Academy at Broward College
Nathaniel M. Foo
Anthony A. Infantino
Mason S. Tutko
Maria A. Villegas Botero

Cypress Bay High School
Andres A. Baute
James K. Brock
Diego A. Carstens
Talia J. Cohen
Alexia B. Cosman
Anurag Kulkarni
Angela Li
Matthew R. Norman
Douglas Sandler
Michael R. Sun
Daniel J. Xie

Deerfield Beach High School
Aakansha Mehrotra

Everglades High School
Laura S. Carvajal
Viraj Chandrasekaran
Javier E. Pratdesaba

Fort Lauderdale High School
Rom Amasay
Jared L. Ball
Katherine Gegoutchadze
Syed J. Tahir

McArthur High School
Isabella J. Tavarez

Nova High School
Anika B. Allen
Hannah M. Quintal

Pompano Beach High School
Catherine S. Santiago

South Plantation High School
Custer J. Gilchrest

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring and summer of 2020. Every Finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2,500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational level. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards will be provided by approximately 220 corporations and business organizations for Finalists who meet their specific criteria. In addition, about 180 colleges and universities will finance 4,100 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School serves students from Coral Springs and Parkland.

Author Profile

Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron is a Parkland resident and editor of Talk Media. She has been covering Parkland news since 2012. Parkland Talk was created to provide News, Views, and Entertainment for the residents of Parkland.

National Bus Charter
Advocate Claims