J.P. Taravella Tanaris Jean Pierre Finishes 10 Ten in BCAA Championship

By: Matt Rothman

Before Districts, cross country athletes from Marjory Stoneman Douglas, Coral Springs, Coral Springs Charter, Coral Glades, and J.P. Taravella High School competed in the Broward County Athletic Association Championship.

The competition, held Thursday at Tradewins Park, combined 26 different Broward County schools in the 5,000 meter (3.1 mile) race.

Marjory Stoneman Douglas

Boys: 13th place

Connor Greep recorded the top time for the Eagles and came in 37th place, one spot higher than teammate Lukas Marrink.

MSD had two runners in Joesph Cardinale, and Emery Jackson finished in the top 76 while Teyve Singh and Connor Mazzilli also competed for the Eagles. 

Girls: 9th place

MSD’s best result was from Ariana Aubreu, who finished with the top time, coming in 30th place. She was followed by Devyn Sanders at 32nd, along with Morgan Melchiorri, Taylor Woonton, Erika Wilczek, and Sofia Schorer Kaplan. 

Coral Springs High School

Boys: 14th place

Jeffrey Belizaire continued his terrific season with a strong race and ended up in 18th place with a time of 18:29.47. Lucas Penaloza came in second for the Colts and 51st overall. David Lafleche, Ashton Piersol, Matthew Thulo, Christopher Belfort, and Matthew Campbell were all in action.

Girls: 11th place

Angelica Macarulay has led the Colts all season, continuing until the last race. She came in 31st with a time of 23:43:63, Brianna Williams followed in 60th, Josefine Madjoch three spots back, and Julia Fendell finished in 83rd. Lea Ramnarace, Faith Cunningham and Arianna Negron all participated as well.

Coral Springs Charter

Boys: 18th place

The Panthers had six runners, with Eli Groothius picking up the top time at 19:36.60. Thomas Paquet and Liam Blum finished in the top-85 while Ryan Head, Anthony Morandale, and Aiden Lintz competed.

Girls: 8th place

Mackenzie Maniscalco recorded the best result out of all the Coral Springs schools for the girls,  coming in 24th place, while Katie and Abby Foster each finished 17 spots apart. Lynnae Varkala,  Marissa Micioni, Kat Martinez and Sabrina Gonzalez were the final four Panthers to finish.

Coral Glades

Boys: 22nd place

Coral Glades competed individually with Ali Abadallah registering the top time for the Jaguars with 21.20.65 to come in 78th. Chase de Los Santos, Tyler Osburn, Ethan Weinstock, Yahia Ziodean all participated.

J.P. Taravella: 9th Place

In his last regular-season race, senior Tanaris Jean Pierre improved form finishing in the top 50 last year to the ninth-best result. He completed the race 17:54.07, which was roughly a minute faster than teammate Tyler James. They were followed by Marcos Noriega, Jaylen Amoa, Luis Gutierrez, and Jace Johnson.

Send your news to Parkland’s #1 news source, Parkland Talk.

Author Profile

Matt Rothman
Matt Rothman
Matt Rothman is a 2018 graduate from Florida Gulf Coast University receiving his bachelor’s degree in journalism and then graduated from the University of Florida as a graduate student. He also works for the Mohave Valley Daily News in Bullhead City, Arizona covering high school sports.
Estate Law of Florida, P.A.
International van lines