MSD Guidance Counselor Terry Sullivan at senior award night.

By: Sharon Aron Baron

There was no shortage of Marjory Stoneman Douglas seniors selected for various awards and scholarships on Tuesday evening.

Senior Award Night is an annual event where various organizations recognize students for their talent, community involvement and or academic achievement said BRACE Advisor Ana Farrand.

All juniors and seniors have access to the various awards and scholarships offered by checking their Naviance account to search for those the district has specifically targeted. Students who read the email bulletins sent by Ferrand will also get notices of the specific scholarships just for MSD students.

On Tuesday, May 28, 50 students will also be honored at the Broward Education Foundation Scholarship Award Ceremony. Along with those students, 17 seniors will be receiving the Positive, Passionate, Proud to be an Eagle scholarship created by Principal Ty Thompson where each student will receive a $1,000 scholarship in honor of the 17 Fallen Eagles.

City of Parkland Education Scholarship

Aoife Redmond (Education Advisory Board)
Ryan LoFurno (Engineering Scholarship)
Alyssa Fletcher (All-State Foundation Scholarship)
Sophie Ayoung-Chee (All-State Foundation Scholarship)

City of Coral Springs Martin Luther King Scholarship

Jenny TsoiFang
Jayden Faoro
Kai Koerber

Coral Springs Community Chest Scholarship

Jessica Nikaj

Coral Springs Garden Club Scholarship

Alondra Gittelson
Ma’Ayan Mizrahi
Lexy Smith

Coral Springs Artist Guild

Megan Martin

Rotary Club of Coral Springs/ Parkland

Ma’ayan Mizrahi

Rotary Club of Coral Springs

Jonathan Van Arsdale

Broward College- Voucher of Excellence

Calyra Perez
Victoria Olvera

Broward Technical College Foundation Scholarship

Noah Parness

Broward County Gator Club Scholarship

Hunter O’Neill

Coral Springs Fraternal Order of Police

Carson Abt
Michael Ames
Alyssa Fletcher
Joshua Gallagher
Alondra Gittelson
Jesse Guttenberg
Emily Halleran
Kevin Heinrich
Madison Moskowitz
Hunter Polyak

Eda & Cliff Viner Community Scholars Foundation

Marcus Lecky
Angela Frantz

The Fairfax Wood Scholarship Foundation administered by the George Snow Scholarship Fund

Piero Guerra
Angela Frantz
Jacob Dorfman
Giovani Wancelotti
Spencer Blum
Andrea Tovar
Sara Giovanello
Arianna Casamento
Rachel Mesquita
Giulia Garcia

Hopkins Team Homes Scholarship

Jonathan Van Arsdale

Horatio Alger Association

Kai Koerber

Kiwanis Club of Coral Springs

Mustafa Hanif

NYCB MSD Community Service Award/ AmTrust

Christian Walk
Grant Martin

Parkland Scholarship Funds

Adam Alhanti
Nya Easton
Samantha Goldberg
Kayla Sanseverino
Jonathan Van Arsdale

MedNAX MSD Strong Scholarship

Sawyer Garrity
Noah Kaufman

CommuteAir Cares Scholarship

Alec Black
Juan Rojas

Parkland Buddy Sports Scholarship

Alyssa Fletcher
Faith Kimmet

Al DeSimone’s Charity for Champions

Gabriella Rumasuglia
Alyssa Fletcher
Andrea Tovar
Alondra Gittelson
Jonathan Van Arsdale

Broward Bound Shining Stars Foundation Scholarship

Sawyer Garrity
Dylan Redshaw
Ashley Paseltiner
Alex Wind

Sunburst Foundation

Ruitao Li
Marcelo Garcia

The Pearl Mae Foundation Scholarship

Hayley Siegel
Jonathan Van Arsdale
Alondra Gittelson

Nicholas Dworet Memorial Foundation Scholarship

Justin Irwin

The Price Family Scholarship

Amber Muller
Valeria Fernandez Burgos
Lina Crisostamo
Matthew Lippel
Erich Cook
Nyan Clarke
Ashley Santoro
Alejandra Martinez
Niurka Andrade
Matthew Shank

MSD Heroes Leadership Scholarship

Alyssa Fletcher
Zachary Hibshman

Parkland Chamber of Commerce DECA Scholarship

Elizabeth Eaton
Alyssa Fletcher
Samantha Goldberg

InVest Scholarship

Carson Abt
Alyssa Fletcher
Samantha Goldberg
Andrea Hengber
Madison Moskowitz
Kosha Patel
Sydney Watson
Christian Walk
Jenna Weissman
Florence Yared

Friends of the Parkland Library

Christian Walk

Yoshi Hattori Scholarship

Grace Thornburg

Arts for the Future

Olivia Feller
Kelsey Nickerson
Dylan Redshaw
Crystal Tang
Alex Wind

Broward Principal’s and Assistant’s Association of Broward County Scholarship

Jonathan Van Arsdale

Arts for Life

Olivia Feller

Burger King McLamore Scholarship

Carson Abt

Ford Salute to Education

Daniela Ortiz
Ivanna Paitan
David Wu

The David Clowney Foundation Scholarship

Jonathan Van Arsdale

Daughters of the American Revolution- Good Citizen Scholarship

Carson Abt

The Giovanni Villanueva Memorial Scholarship

Victoria Silva

IT Women Foundation Scholarship

Sophie Chee

National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation Scholarship

Lydia Moreno

National Supermarket Association

Jonathan Van Arsdale

The Gates Scholarship

Marcelo Garcia

The National Council of Jewish Women Scholarship

Carson Abt

Posse Foundation Scholarship

Anthony Lopez

Ossian E. Mills Scholarship Award

Sophie Ayoung-Chee
Marcus Lecky

Quest-Bridge Scholarship

Tyah’Amo Roberts

Tampa Bay Hospitality Alliance Scholarship

Lydia Moreno

Wendy’s Heisman Award

Alyssa Fletcher
Bryce Nabridge

Carl H Grisham and Laura Estella Grisham Scholarship

Oliva Feller


Author Profile

Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron is a Parkland resident and editor of Talk Media. She has been covering Parkland news since 2012. Parkland Talk was created to provide News, Views, and Entertainment for the residents of Parkland.