Qualifying for Parkland City Commission Seats Begins June 13
Simeon Brier, Jordan Isrow, and Rich Walker have announced they will be running in 2022.


By Jill Fox

Just a few weeks remain for local candidates to announce their runs for the November 8 municipal election.

Three seats on the dais are up for re-election in Parkland, including Mayor, District 1, and District 2 Commissioners.

Residents interested in running for the city commission must file and complete the qualifying process between noon on June 13 and June 17. This includes filing paperwork stating they are eligible voters who have resided in Parkland for at least one year and paying city fees of $1734.15 and state fees of $346.83.

The only candidates currently on the slate are the incumbents: Mayor Rich Walker, Simeon Brier, and Jordan Isrow, the current commissioners of District 1 and District 2, respectively.

City Commissioners earn an annual salary of $34,683, and the mayor earns $37,893 plus benefits. Standardized candidate forms and election publications are available for download at the Florida Division of Elections website.

Candidate qualifying will take place by appointment only at Parkland City Hall, located at 6600 University Drive. For further details about qualifying as a candidate, call City Clerk Alyson Morales at 954-757-4132.

Send your news to Parkland’s #1 News Source, Parkland Talk.

Author Profile

Jill Fox
Jill Fox
Jill Fox is an Emmy Award-winning writer and producer. She has worked in public relations and television for over 20 years. Fox lives in Parkland with her husband and their two children.

Premier bounce n slide
Champion Insurance Agency